A week of milestones

It feels great to hear from you guys!

 

The homesickness has been rampant for days. Several of the other Elders have been sneaking in and writing emails to girlfriends. You really can’t go too long without somebody mentioning their girlfriends or asking stories about mine. Apparently, I’m a stud and should have stories up the wazoo. I’m reluctant obviously to share those stories and I can’t believe that some of these brethren complain so much and they wonder why they can’t feel the spirit. Much like Laman and Lemuel.

 

Now, that is not to say that these aren’t good men. One is from Portland and we so want to hang out. Another is from Ohio (a participant of Cumorah!) and I’ve talked him into serving with me on the work crew when we get back. (Mother, get on this one!) It is a bit sad and frustrating not being able to talk to you guys more often and Tuesdays seem like a long time away. But I digress.

The Portuguese is coming along nicely and simple sentences are being put together. We are apparently one of the more ambitious groups! The spiritual learning though takes priority and I love it. Learning more from both the Book of Mormon and the intimacy that is expressed in the gospels about the Savior and his work is always the highlight of the day. The people here are just wonderful. I was a little skeptical of this, but there has been nothing but love and great commradore among everyone here. The temple trip was wonderful this morning and learning the deeper mysteries is always a great way to start off a Tuesday morning. You can really feel the Savior’s love here when we are focused on our work here.

 

I love hearing about you guys and the Katie stories here. Surprisingly, I’m not really wanting to go home. I do have moments where I miss you guys, but I feel happy and honored to have been called by a prophet of God to serve his people out here. I just can’t wait to start preaching to the many, many, MANY people here.

 

Some milestones this week:

 

Baptismal prayer memorized in Portuguese, have delivered three lessons entirely in Portuguese, and I would say that when an actual conversation is going on, I understand about 50% of what they are generally talking about and 15% of the actual words being used.

 

I can’t wait til I have served my mission and I get to come home and start missing the people here!

 

Eu amor você!

 

Stephen

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A week of milestones

  1. Roxane Brown says:

    Elder Jarvis,
    Inspiring! Thank you for your example, your desire and your tenacity to serve. The blessings will be and are great. I look forward to reading more and hearing of your mission when you return. I was sorry I couldn’t make your tie-ing on one farewell.
    Sis. Brown

  2. Kimberly Mumford says:

    Dear Elder Jarvvis~ Greetings from the North! You are where you should be, when you should be. We miss you tons, but there is absolutely nothing going on here that you will regret missing. THe only regret you would have regretted is if you did not do this now. You, like Nephi, have GONE and DONE the things the Lord commands and you will be blessed for it!! You will bring the Devil to his knees and the Saints to their feet! Love you lots!
    Ms. Kim

  3. mickeybatin says:

    Dearest Elder:
    It is very apparant you have the beginnings of truly a Godworthy mission. It is wonderful that Heavenly Father has blessed you to learn the language so quickly. I have no doubt you will continue to be a tremendous gift to the people you are so generously serving. Much love and respect, Mickey

Leave a Reply

