A day in the life…

 

Our two roommates left this morning. Elder B. Santoes from Brazil and Elder Paderes from Argentina. I grabbed pictures and wrote down details in my journal. Funny how promptings work. I had a feeling I should talk about life here and the people, and it seems that’s what you want.

 

The classes are taught in both Portuguese and English. Mostly English. The teachers here are RM’s from 21 to 30, all native. They speak English really well and we have a great time with them. Brother Romeu teaches our afternoon classes, which is where we learn 80% of our Portuguese. Sister Jardim (which translates to garden) is awesome and loves to talk about the gospel. We get most, if not all, mornings to ourselves. We do TALL Lab (Rosetta Stone for missionaries), Estudo Pessoal, e Estudo Companherio (Estudo means study.) We also get gym some mornings, which we are now sharing with another district. There are no sisters in our group, which is probably a good thing. Elder Long from Hurricane (The one I was told to look out for) is my companion. A typical mormon kid with a fetish for sports and a girlfriend who is waiting for him. Most here have girlfriends waiting for them, except for three of us. But even we have girls we are writing to.

 

The district here is pretty great. The others are:

 

District Leader Scoresby (Highland, Utah)

Elder Johnson (I think Ogden)

Elder Hadley (Mesa I think)

Elder Bishop (Sandy, Utah and endowed in the Jordan River)

Elder Wilson (My best friend here from Ohio)

Elder Young (Also from Ohio. These two lived like ten minutes away from each other in the Dayton area)

Elder Porter (Portland, Oregon)

Elder Wolfe (Chattanooga, Tennessee)

 

Most love talking about sports and girlfriends. Apparently, I have lots of stories to tell that are great for them. (Comes from being with the Gentiles!)

 

The temple trip this morning was quite peaceful. It’s in English and I just had lots of time to think and lots of things to contemplate about while in the temple. I love it so much. It’s small enough that it has only one endowment room, but large enough that there is a place to rent clothes. The Sunday’s are usually the best. Three hour naps, Church starts at 9, and all in English. There is a devotional every Sunday and Tuesday night with some mandatory choir practice thrown in. We usually get an area authority and mostly speak in Portuguese. We do have an English Translator for those people. The meals here are great. Rice and Beans with bread and usually some other Brazilian dish. They do pizza nights, but they are the thin crust “exotic” kinds. The pineapple is awesome. RARELY do we get any American food. Oh, and Root Beer is the devil’s drink, so that’s the one thing they don’t have.

 

I love your guy’s stories and don’t be afraid to send letters. I enjoy getting mail and I’m not limited to time on those. It usually takes about a week to get here. Dear Elder would be nice, there is a way to get those pretty instantly here, so you can start using that.

Thirty minutes goes by REALLY fast. I love you guys and I hope you get my letters soon. We just have to deal with this temporary inconvenience til I get out into the field. Thirty minutes a day on P-days, which is Tuesdays.

 

Eu amor voces!

 

Elder Jarvis

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A day in the life…

  1. vickie says:

    What’s your physical address so I can send you mail? Sounds like you are thriving. I hope you know most of those guys with girls waiting will get a dear Elder John letter before they go home. Just saying. Your dad is getting the work going here. Donald Driver just won Dancing With the Stars. I wanted the classical singer. Heard your sister cleaned up at the seminary scripture chase. Keep your chin up. RWH.

Leave a Reply

