READ YOUR SCRIPTURES!!!!!

So with the dedication of the Minaous Brazil Temple coming up, we knew we would be having a visiting authority coming. Elder Costa announced that he would be coming here with a 3:00 devotional on which day? Our P-Day, which ticked us off to no end. We were frantically thinking about how we were going to accomplish all of the day’s tasks, when on our way back from the temple, it was announced that the fireside was cancelled. Sadness….. ūüėČ

 

Anyways, now for the other stuff.

 

We had an “investigator” named Eduardo that we have been teaching since we got here and we baptized him on Saturday. I was playing¬†a rather alert¬†Bishop Russell. (I know scary hunh.) It was fantastic and we’ve started teaching our third investigator this week. Pretty exciting. Did another TRC with some investigators which went fantastically well. We did the first lesson and walked out of there giving them a copy of the Book of Mormon. Turns out, the rest of our district had curve balls thrown at them, so we dodged a bullet there.

 

True missionary experience. So last Tuesday we were out around on the town enjoying some much needed Pizza Hut pizza. (Some of the Elder’s moms bought them for us.) While sitting at the local cookie place, an older gentlemen walked up to some of our district. It took me four repetitions before I understood that he was asking if we were missionaries. he held his hand out, and I knew he wanted. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my backpack on me, so I ran inside to ask a missionary for¬†a copy of the Book of Mormon. He handed it to me, and I ran out handing it to the man, still hand extended. He said thanks and went his way.

 

On the studying, I completed the Book of Mormon for the fourth time in my life, finished the New Testament (Revelation is pretty trippy), and am almost to the end of Exodus. I’m over half-way through on Jesus the Christ and most of my district is discovering “Our Search for Happiness”. Surprisingly, almost nobody brought “The missionary library” and mine are circulating through the district. There is such a power that comes from reading the scriptures, and since I can only take so much of the language study per day, my studies turn to the written works. I bore a short testimony on Sunday about the power of the words and encouraged the Elders and Sisters to spend time in them. (You got a very humble mention in it, Mother.)

 

The language study is a very different kind of challenge, and I’m a little lacking on the practicing side of it. If a Brasilian comes up and speaks to me, it usually takes another repetition before I understand what he is saying. Fortunately, these people aren’t language snobs. If they understand you, they will keep going and commend you for trying to learn the language. Because of the poor schooling system here, most of the people don’t speak proper Portuguese anyways. Some of the conjugations here have me a little frusterated, but there is nothing I can really do about it.

 

My admonishment to you this week: READ YOUR SCRIPTURES!!!!! As I read the last few chapters from the Book of Mormon last week, starting from “O ye fair ones”, my body wanted to quake at the words I was reading. Heavenly Father loves us enough to give us his everlasting gospel in these latter-days, and it would be¬†a shame and a disservice¬†if you neglected these important words. They are your vital lifelines to Him; use them.

 

Oh, and I loved the pictures of Luke and Kadee’s girl!

 

Eu amor vocês!

 

Stephen

Elder Jarvis

 

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

