First Area and First Companion

I got assigned to the Novo Osasco ward. the area isn´t terribly big, but it requires quite a bit of walking. Saturday almost killed me because we had a new chapel that was being dedicated outside our area, 3 miles away, and we had to walk that route three times (we got a ride from one of the members when it was time to go back at 9.) Yeah, my calves were screaming for relief.

Last Tuesday was interesting. Elder Wilson and I had to wait at the mission home for the night, but they had no more beds, so we slept on the floor (with the windows open). I had to put my suit back on so I wouldn´t freeze to death.

Elder John Dattilo from Tacoma is my comphanion. He has been out for about 9 months and is very fluent. The first day I couldn´t understand a lot, but I could follow the conversations mostly. I testify at the end of the lessons, and he sometimes lets me do a spiritual thought. It´s a hard language to say because you can´t be lazy with the pronuciation, but it´s not a hard language to understand. Many of their verbs sound similar to English, and once I learn the conjugations, I should be home free. I had to introduce myself to the ward yesterday. (Guess how long that lasted.)

Novo Osasco is in a favela…..Yeah, about that. Most of the homes you have to walk down a hall or an alley to get to. There is so much trash on the road (a good portion is cigarette boxes), and there are definately sights you won´t see in the States. 15 year-old pregnant girls, drunk parties, people smoking bongs, and lots of dog crap. Plus, most everyone here has teeth missing or an accent, so sometimes I can´t catch a word they are saying. This week has been very tough.

Yet the faith of the people is inspiring. We have several baptisms scheduled for the 29th, including one from a lesson we did last night. Elder Dattilo can hardly contain himself.

So a good story:

President Martins called us and said that he had a strong feeling about Bosocaba (a section of Novo Osasco). So, we (like the good hard working missionaries we are) have spent all our free time working that area. We had a lunch appointment yesterday that got pushed back an hour, so we went tracting in Bosocaba. We found a wonderful middle-aged gentleman working on his garden. He expressed his appreciation for our sacrifice (while encouraging me by saying Portuguese is a hard language to learn), talked about families needing to be unified, reading scriptures, and asking God for truth. He invited us to sit with him, and Elder Dattilo taught a short lesson on charity using Moroni 7. The man loved what we had to say. We gave him a Book of Mormon, committed him to read from Moroni 7, and we have a return appointment for Saturday. When we left, Elder Dattilo was jumping up and down. He just couldn´t contain himself!

BTW, ran into Sister Hayes. She is doing really well and seems to be enjoying herself. Also ran into a kid from Mulketio that has got under a year left. 
The members love to serve food, and you feel compelled to eat as much as possible. Today´s lunch was lasagna with Pinneaple Juice. So Good. I also said to one or our investigators last night that I don´t like chocolate. She asked, in Portuguese: Are you sick? We all had a good laugh about that one.

Elder Dattilo has 9 months out here, is very fluent, and brought a bit of music with him. He even brought Lord of the Rings….Droga! I wish I would have known things like that were approved. I would have been able to bring my John Williams stuff. He is perfectly fine as a comphanion and we are getting along pretty well. He speaks Portuguese 90% of the time (cause I asked him to. I need to get used to hearing it), and has taught me quite a few things regarding the work.

So much happening out here, though most of the smaller more personal experiences I´m keeping off here for now. Those experiences are going in letters and my journal, which selections from the journal will be shared when I get back. Happy Birthday Corbin.

Please, keep writing letters and emails. I´ll be able to respond to the emails fairly quickly and I´ll get all the letters every 6 weeks or so. Anywho, The gospel is still true, the Lord loves you and so do I.

Eu amo vocês!

Stephen (Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Area and First Companion

  1. mickeybatin says:

    I continue to enjoy reading of your adventures. You seem to be very resilient with the set of circumstances you have found yourself in. Or should I say, “The Lord put you in.” But you are certainly becoming as what Sandy Roger’s mom used to call me all the time “a work and a wonder”. We are grateful for your continued testimony in this blog. Love Mickey

Leave a Reply

