Whosoever shall lose their life for my sake, shall find it

This week´s work report isn´t much. Not much as changed, though we do fill our time slots with less-actives when others fall through, and we got a nice pat-on-the-back by Elder Goats (the zone leader) for that. We are so close with one or two people to baptisms, but free agency and the darts of the adversary impede us at times. We met a wonderful 18 year old niece of an active-member who loves us and the church. She used to go quite often in the past, but due to a new baby and a Father barring her in the house for 60 days afterwards until she has “recuperated”, she is not able to go to church just yet, but we have high hopes for her. On another note, President Martins has called an emergency zone conference. Can´t wait!

We have able to get a few members to come with us, and because we usually arrive during their (investigators) rest periods, I usually encounter a movie that I have seen before. It´s interesting to try and translate in my mind for the short time it is on. Green Lantern and Monsters Vs. Aliens. This week, the ward has an activity where everyone goes out to “family, neighbors, and friends” with pass-along cards to try and get references for us. Some other wards have had great success with this in the past (Jaguare got 35 references in one day!), so we are pretty pumped to see what happens. I was going to talk about families and children this week (Everytime I see one, “Eu quero uma!”), but this morning overode that.

I finished the Book of Mormon once again, and as the dying words of Moroni sunk into my heart, I got that usual “calm yet burning” feeling in my heart. I´ve been trying everytime I finish the Book of Mormon to try Moroni´s challenge. So this morning I took to my knee and tried it again. Once again, though very powerfully, I got the confirmation. It is a very personal, private, yet all-consuming moment when you have the truth of the Book revealed to you, despite how many times you have tried it in the past. Some of the very simplest, but most powerful testimonies ever recorded by man, angels, or God himself are, “This book is true.” All that the book contains, from Nephi´s determination, to Alma´s sermons, to King Benjamin´s heart bruning discourse, to Ether´s record of a doomed people, to the Savior´s beautiful ministry unto his lost sheep of the house of Israel, to Mormon and Moroni´s sorrowful testimonies of the power of adversary and the power of Christ and the prophecies thereof, is true and thus is one of the most stunning revelations ever given to man. Yet, the book was written by way of revelation and of prophecy to testify to the stiff-necked world, deaf to the tune of faith, that the “foolish traditions” of their fathers is exactly the remedy the world needs. As C.S. Lewis once put it, “The people do not use the physician or hearken unto him until they are sick.” Even then, the pride of the world is deemed enough to conquer the invincible barriers to eternal life and happiness. Once again, Lewis states, “The lie that Satan introduced to our parents was that they could find peace and happiness without God”. As one who has been commissioned to be a representative of Him, I testisfy that this is the most white-faced lie ever conceived by the devil. Happiness does not come from salvation of self, but from the exaltation of others.

Service is the Master´s teaching. “Whosoever shall lose their life for my sake shall find it.” The ways of God are the only ways to life eternal. Though who ever said that you may not exerperience a taste of that joy on this earth. To this end was the commandments given, so that we could taste of the tree of life and desire more. As we continue in this persuit, we will find what our hearts desire. And the most powerful words relating to this search are recorded in the Book of Mormon. Its clarity and excellence of principles will indeed help men get closer to God, and thus eternal life, than by any other means. So, my invite to you today is to read this book. I promise you that if you search deeply from it, you will not be dissapointed.

Eu amo vocês

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

