Keep yourself worthy so the Holy Ghost can act through you

On Wednesday, I was transferred to Indaiatuba with Elder Viana. I was warned about somethings that happened here, but for the most part, the work continues. We have a baptism coming up on Saturday, and Elder Viana is focused on baptizing weekly. (Which, apparently is possible here.) So many cool things here, but announcements. Here, there is a couple of cool things. We are 10 minutes from two shopping centers (Looking forward to future P-Days), there is a train museum up the road (Trying to talk Elder Viana into making a stop there soon), and the members here are wonderful. I have one of two possible places ready for Skypeing you guys on Christmas, and our best friend here is the Stake Patriarch.

Yesterday at church, we had 4 or so investigators show up at Church. As sacrament meeting was starting, two men, one in his mid 50´s and one in his late 20´s, showed up. The younger man spoke first, asking about the bathroom. The older gentleman starting speaking English, which was the sound of joy to my ears. He is an american business man from Bountiful who makes a trip to Brazil monthly and doesn´t speak a lick of Portuguese. Rick Moore from the states, involved in a company that sells its products to the major dental companies in the world. You will certainly find some of his company´s products in almost any home in the states. It was so cool to follow him and his young friend (not a member) around during church. The young friend (fluent in English and Portugues) and I had a conversation after Priesthood Meeting about what he learned. In English (nothing cooler than bearing your testimony in your own language), I delivered a brief synopsis of The Restoration, the Plan of Salvation, our potential to become gods, Family history work, Missionary work, where the gold plates are now, eternal families, and what our position is about other religions. Later, as he looked at a picture of the baptism of Christ, I explained why baptism was so important and what it meant. Apparently, it “cleared up things”, biblically speaking. I didn´t pick up his address, but Brother Moore said that they would be back next month, probably with his wife.

Elder Viana is a plum Brazilian who doesn´t like to take things seriously. He and I have already had conversations correcting each other. Fortunately, this doesn´t put a serious wedge between us. We are enjoying one another and, I do love that he is trying to infuse in me a love for the work and a view forward and focused to the baptisms. I think that is because he knows that he can´t keep up the light hearted mood by himself.

Last night, we had a very meaningful experience. We were looking for an address of a contact we made. Couldn´t find the address where we were looking, but on that same street, right at about where it should have been, I saw a house with no number on it. Elder Viana wanted to move on, because the house I was looking at was certainly not the right one. Nevertheless, I had a small thought that I wanted to stop at the house and ask about this “missing house”. An older woman came out, and as we started to explain our situation (We are representatives of Jesus Christ and we are lost….) she stated that she was a member. She said her name, to which Elder Viana exclaimed that she was on our list of people to look for. She invited us in and we started to dive in, she explained that her life was in pieces and she was losing her faith in God. We quickly changed subjects and Elder Viana perscribed some scriptural remmedies (He sees us as doctors). I shared stories and scriptures about trials and why we have them. She readily accepted our perscription and after our prayer, stated why she was crying. It wasn´t just because of her life now; it was because not a minute before we knocked, she had been praying, asking God for help. Her grandson, who was there the whole time, confirmed it. I couldn´t believe it. I have heard and remember stories of small voices prompting people. These voices usually seem so strong that people couldn´t resist. This time, it was a small thought that was so fleeting that if I didn´t act on it right away, the thought would have left and I would have gone to bed that night sleeping peacefully, while someone we passed by was suffering.

I will say it now. The thoughts of the Holy Ghost can be so quiet and so fleeting that if you don´t heed them, you may never remember them. If I hadn´t acted on the thought, one of the sheep would have forever gone astray. Keep yourself worthy so that the Holy Ghost can act through you. I love you all and hope to hear from you soon.

Eu Amo Vocês!

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

