Your own sacrifices make me want to be better than I am

Let Elder Dattilo (John) know that Saulo in Novo Osasco was finally baptized a few weeks ago.  

Glad I could help with Enos. I also love the hymns, especially “Dear to the Heart of the Shepherd”. The chorus is a source of motivation for me. “Out in the desert they wander, hungry and helpless and cold. Off to the rescue He (we´ll) hasten(s), bringing them back to the fold.” These, our brothers and sisters, know not what they look for and thus are lost. The problem is that Satan is perhaps the hardest worker I know in the field. Unless we are exactly obedient here, we cannot succeed  Some elders here wonder why we are seemingly destined to fail here, and President Martins has been all over the reason why. The fault is personal consecration.  We don´t dedicate ourselves fully to the work. We break some seemingly meaningless rules, we oversocilize with members, we fail to keep study hours, and then we wonder why the work of God isn´t going forth. The harvest has been slow here, and there are many reasons for it, not the least of which has to do with my own faults. It is frustrating though, that because of the folleys of man, the work slows down. Baptisms are happening here, but not to the extend that they should be. Sorry, Mom, but the hair is probably the least of my worries, though I will get it taken care of. A family that we had an amazing encounter with seems to be distancing themselves from us for some reason. The mother is clearly in the house, for we have seen her, but she sends her five year-old to tell us that she isn´t home. (Which he says like this: My mommy asked me to tell you that she is not home.)

 
After watching “The Mountain of the Lord” and remembering the story of John Rowle Moyle, who walked 20 miles two times a week to work on the Salt Lake Temple, and even continued doing this after he lost a leg, for 20 years, I´m saddened by the fact that the saints are not fully utilizing the wonderful blessing it is to have a temple less than a half-hour from I am right now. It is His house, and like all of His other invitations, He invites us, no, pleads with us, to make use of these things. Please do so, my beloved brethren and sisters. I promise you the blessings of heaven as you do so.
 
This week wasn´t all bad. I have received a few letters from you guys, and I´m glad to be receiving some of the comments from Mickey and to hear that Christine went through the temple. I had my first interview with President entirely in Portuguese. The last few had the majority in Portuguese, except for a few personal questions, but this time was memorable for me. I also finished Doctrine and Covenants in Portuguese for the first time. However, I do have a bit of a cold right now, so continuing to read the Portuguese scriptures aloud is somewhat more of a challenge.
 
Yeah, these last few weeks haven´t been going good for awhile, but it didn´t affect me until now. I think I just need to take a chill pill for a while. I´d like to ask a favor to everyone. Write to me your testimonies of the Book of Mormon and the truthfulness of this work. It´s not that I´m doubting or anything, because I´m not. I finally got around this morning to marking how many things delight the soul of Nephi, and now I´m looking for the things that delight my soul. While I can´t go to the temple (President had tried to fix that for us), I can, however, feast from the scriptures, pray with frankness, and listen to the music of Zion. I also love to receive your letters and hear about the good things that happen there. I remember one letter that I absolutely love. Not long after I got into the MTC, Christine wrote me a letter with a portion of her testimony. It would be a great treasure to me to have letters from my beloved family and dear friends with their own witnesses.
 
You are such a wonderful and supporting family and group of friends. Your own sacrifices make me want to be better than I am.
 
Eu amo vocês!

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

