So, what are you waiting for? The longer you wait, the harder it will be.”

So, things happening here. We have several people being prepped for baptism, although Elder B. Santos is loosing some of his hair because one of our investigators hasn´t attended church yet. We are also working with a couple that have a smoking problem and the husband has been in depression for the last year. It´s terrible to see him want to have hope, and yet his mind shuts him down. He wants to work, he wants to quit smoking, he wants to be baptized, but he can´t make any real progress towards any of this. I was wondering about Mom´s B-Day, as I was working that day (Go figure). Fortunately, even with the apparent whitewashing of the place, we´ve had some very good prospects.

My favorite was a family of an active brother. The family has been attending church for the last 4 weeks, so all they need is to be taught. Because they can only meet two or three times a week, we live so far apart, and they can´t get together before 8 PM, it will be tough. We had a great meeting with them and the Bishop (Oh my gosh, I´ve found my new best friend!) and we taught the Restoration. Even though it was awesome and full of the Spirit, Elder B. Santos panicked a bit because he became unsure of the presentation. (When you jump from teaching 3 people to 15, your mind plays tricks on you.) So, we´ve been working on that.

Last week, we had Zone conference. In order to get to the building, we had to travel through downtown Osasco. Man, how I missed the place. With me, there was a Sister Keller, a group behind me, that was trained in downtown Osasco, and so we had a few kicks and giggles about the place. I have a friend from my group, an Elder Ray who got stuck in Provo, who is now working in Novo Osasco, so he asked me about a few people that were (surprisingly) still being taught.

Oh, to those who may be interested. The Mission Department has now authorized missionaries to email friends and converts through email. The rule before was only family; it´s still one hour though.

I had an interesting insight to the pain of the Atonement yesterday during Gospel Principles that I´d like to share with you, as it caused me to pause and think. You know how the record says that Christ sweated blood from every one of His pores. I learned that (if nothing breaks in the process) you have to basically destroy your finger in order to sweat blood from one pore. That´s without skin, bone, or nerves breaking. Now imagine the number of pores in one finger, and then multiply that to include ALL pores on the body. Kind of gives you a painful perspective. I definitely took the sacrament more reverently after learning that fact.

I went to a less-active´s house last night (same that I talked about in my message last week) and we asked why he didn´t come to church today (yesterday)? He said, “Oh, I´m waiting for the right time. Want to come back, but I don´t know if now is the right time.” I asked him my usual question, “So when will be?” I was then inspired to add a story that I know Mom will remember. So, we (Joe, Cora, Gennie, and I) were told always to clean our rooms. Most of the time, we were told that Saturday was the big cleaning day, but that we should clean our rooms a little bit during the week. Most of the time, if we did the little things (and especially the big cleaning period on Saturday), then we were on good terms with Mom. However, if we missed the big cleaning day, even the little cleaning periods didn´t help all that much.

I then gave the interpretation to him. The big cleaning day is Sunday, in this case. Even if you get the little things, like reading scriptures, praying, serving others; if you miss taking the sacrament and going to church, your week is going to be much harder and you´ll be more prone to loosing the blessed companionship of the Holy Spirit. He pondered that thought. He hasn´t even been doing the little things. Then I said to him, “The Church isn´t changing. The way the Church runs isn´t changing. Joseph Smith is still a Prophet. The people at church will be still imperfect. So, what are you waiting for? The longer you wait, the harder it will be.”

Friends and family, if you complain about the Lord and wait (or as Paul may say: kick against the pricks), you make it that much harder for the Lord to bless you. Doing these kind of things only hurts you, and breaks your Father´s heart. Why wait? It´s not too late, as long as the Savior says there is still time. Come back, there is a place prepared just for you and the Landlord is more than happy to have a full house at His gatherings.

Eu amo vocês!

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So, what are you waiting for? The longer you wait, the harder it will be.”

  1. I really enjoy your insights Elder Jarvis. Keep up the great work.
    Vickie

Leave a Reply

