Rejoice, again I say, Rejoice!

President Martins participated in a religious session on the national TV with 3 other high-up leaders of other churches. He did the first lesson, basically, and spoke of the Savior´s visit with the Nephites. He said to the camera; “Anyone who is watching: I invite you to find our missionaries. They will happily give you a free Book of Mormon.” He also spoke briefly of faith, repentance, baptism, the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. When I saw it, it was nothing more than what you´d hear with the missionaries. However, the media was ablaze for a while about the “boldness” of President Martins. He also gave out five Book of Mormons to members of the studio who asked for it, including the evangelist in the debate. So cool.

So, yesterday was the day of visitors. We had one young man (good kid) who was visiting from another church. He started attacking us, because Gospel Principles was a lesson about the Priesthood, and he translated that into meaning that: if you don´t belong to this church, you are going to hell. He also attacked the logic of gold plates, the idea that a plowboy saw God, and that the Bible is complete. (Genesis is the beginning and Revelation is the end of days, so it must be complete cause there is no other time period). (The young man never understood the word “Priesthood” during the entire conversation.) I didn´t argue with him, but I show him some fault in logic. For example: the Bible was complied by men and not by order of revelation. i.e. Revelation was not the last book received. Also, the Catholics accept some additions to the Bible that were (allegedly) written by Daniel and Ester. Also, he was using a “study” Bible. He said that it was so he could understand the circumstances and the geography, not the teaching. (In spite of the fact that that particular Bible interpreted the “No man has seen God” part and “How you are justified by faith.”) When I broke his logic, he sat and thought for a minute about his positions, and it was clear that I had him. Unfortunately, he never accepted it but went on with attacking our claim to Priesthood. Interesting way to use 20 minutes.

We almost had two baptisms on Saturday, but the mother didn´t think the kids were prepared, so we´ve (with her permission) pushed it into in between conference sessions. We did confirm the couple from last week yesterday.

When we were talking with a family on Saturday, we noticed that our time remaining was short, and so we prepared to leave. The 11 and 8 year olds begged and pleaded for “estudo” (study) with us. I looked into their faces and I couldn´t say no. I looked to Elder B. Santos, and he pulled out the scriptures. They shouted for joy like they were getting an extra hour on the TV. You just don´t see that. EVER.

My goodness, how I love this church and the gospel of Christ that we live. I was talking to a recent convert yesterday about his experience yesterday at church. He then explained: “There is no way you can´t not like this church. You feel the Spirit the second you walk through the doors. The members are involved so much in your life and with their fellow non-member friends that my brother once came to me and said: ‘This church is true’.” This brother of his had just returned from his first visit, which was the first time he had had any association with the church. I marvel at the devotion of these latter-day saints to the Savior and His church.

Yes, my young friend from yesterday, this is His church, lead by prophets and apostles. I´m too excited to listen to them next week, and I hope you all are too. What a blessing to be guided by men chosen by the very hand of the Lord himself! Many of our friends don´t know that the Lord has not abandoned us in the slightest today. If anything, He is more involved in our lives than ever, helping prepare the world for His Second Coming. What a glorious day that will be! Hasten the Work! Rejoice, again I say, Rejoice!

Eu amo voces,

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rejoice, again I say, Rejoice!

  1. mickeybatin says:

    Elder as always you can light a fire wherever you go. Nelson continues to go frequently with the missionaries and performed a baptism this last week along with two the week before. He is very eager to build God’s kingdom in Solano so they can become a stake and nothing is getting in his way.

    However I on the other hand have found my well is dry and I have put the walls up for a time. How long I don’t know as I still have no desire to put myself out there again. As my grandmother always said “and this to shall pass”. In the meantime it will be interesting to see the difference in Nelson when he comes back because going to the Philippines has given him a very unique chance to grow in the church. I am happy for him that he is content in being able to serve as a missionary. His only regret is the temple is so far away, ihe hasn’t been able to go. But when that time arises I am sure he will be there with bells on. he has been gone since January and I am assuming I will not see him again until June or later in the year.

    I continue enjoying your experiences that you share. Thank you. Mick

Leave a Reply

