A reminder about humility

This week wasn´t good; Elder Braga finally succumbed to the recent flu that´s down here, so we had to stay at home for the better part of three days.

President gave us a “reminder” about Mother´s day, which none of us needed. Also, P-Day next week is Tuesday, as we will be going to the temple! YEAH!!! I might have to send a smaller letter today and next week, because some things get busy down here. We got a nice “purification fire” from the Elder´s President reminding to fulfill our duties, and not just do them. I felt a little guilty, because I know when I´m not being diligent in my calling. I should be an “example of the believers” as a member, and a “representative of Christ” as a missionary, which are kind of linked here. Yesterday, we had a great thing happen during testimony meeting. Maria Jose, who is the Mom that we baptized three weeks ago, stood up and bore a powerful testimony (Her non-member husband was in the audience). Marcio (her son) and I were in tears. Even if I left the mission tomorrow, I´d still consider it a success because I helped her be baptized. As Elder B. Santos left a while back from the area, I feel that I and Marcio share a special connection because we are the two people who were involved in every step of that process.

I´d like to send a reminder about humility today. President Ezra Taft Benson warned us once that pride was what destroyed the Nephite nation. Pride is a tricky beast. You need a righteous pride and to keep it under control. I used this kind this week when I straight out told an investigator that reincarnation is not true, I know it, and I´ve been commissioned by God to teach it. That was a tricky lesson, especially when she has the idea that my serving the Lord as a missionary will save me in the last day. (I´m particularly fond of letting people know that if the message wasn´t true at all and I didn´t have authority from heaven to do this, I´d be damned faster than you could blink.) Fortunately, the Spirit of the Lord bore a witness to her, and she is progressing wonderfully. The flip-side of pride is when you dominate things because you are “President, Senior, Assistant, etc.” I have a great fear of doing this, and so President knows that if the Lord needs me, I´ll serve with all my heart, but I´d prefer just to be the best missionary I can be in the normal places. Maybe it´s wrong to shrink like this, but the Lord knows me better than I do, so He´ll do the right thing.

We use power because it is needed. But, we need to recognize where the power comes from. We, as missionaries, are reminded that the power of the Atonement comes from something far beyond what we can imagine, and though we experience it day by day, we don´t comprehend it very well. “We” have nothing to boast about. The “baptizing missionaries” baptize by relying on the power of the Atonement and trusting in the mission of the Holy Ghost to testify and to direct us.

I love this gospel and all that comes with it. I hope all of us can gain a little more righteous pride of this gospel and a lot less self-pride for being privileged to belong to the true church.

BTW, Nephi and Captain Moroni are such bosses!

Eu amo voces.

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

