The Book of Mormon is true

Stephen with Makiyami familyUnfortunately, this week was a dry week. (Both in weather and in baptismal perspectives.) As senior, I feel like a good part of that failure was my fault, so I went to the temple hoping to get an answer about how to save the lambs that are already in the flock. Father is very kind to us when we go to His house, so I got my answer that I wanted.

The Lord tries with our patience because there is always something to be fixed. I´ve thought a bit on the fact that when the Lord talked to the apostles (what we have record), it was usually some kind of correction. We can´t get discouraged. Think of it this way; He could be the kind of Father that just doesn´t care what happens to us. Our most promising investigator, Rosa, is still going on strong. I feel like she is just leaning over the edge, and she needs is a kick in the butt to get into the water. She still holds on to her unconventional beliefs, but with less conviction now. Going to church twice and reading the Book of Mormon could have a lot to do with that. Her fifteen year-old is also interested too; we just can´t get her to sit with us while we talk to her mom.

Yesterday was kind of fun. It was my turn to give the lesson at the family home evening at Makyama´s, so I did it on Joseph Smith. For a room full of recent converts, I felt it was necessary. It went very well; however, Satan is getting his licks in. We have five there that could be baptized, but something is always coming up. We may have to increase our visits over there.

I know I shared a bit of this with my family, but I want to share it with you all now.

Yesterday, we had a woman who was just stunned that we would go out on missions without much contact from our family. We´ve had others that marvel that we have such faith to do this. I always feel like my faith is weaker than it should be. Yes, I believe the things I teach, but it could be stronger. While I was going about my Father´s business, it occurred to me that this is my belief after it has been filtered through the hardness and unbelief in my heart. What could it be like if I was just a little more believing? The Savior once said to a suffering father, “Fear not, only believe.” To another, he said, “If thou canst believe, all things are possible”. To a doubting apostle, he said “Be not faithless, but believing.” Belief is a powerful thing. It´s not quite faith, but it´s the starting point. Faith is a little more reinforced, and is developed after trials. Faith is also a gift given from the Father. I have faith, but belief is the fuel to the fire of faith.

I invite all to accept the words of the prophets and apostles. We already believe the Book of Mormon (or if you don´t, now is an excellent time to pray about it), so why do we have so much trouble accepting our leaders and their counsels. The Lord said, “Whether it is my voice, or the voice of my servants, it is the same.” I realize I´m not exempt from this, but I´m not perfect either. My calling and responisibility is way above my head, so I feel like I can safely benefit from the words which are spoken by the Spirit. (Even if they come from my own mouth, or in this case, keyboard.)

The work is marvelious and a wonder. It is true. Joseph Smith was the Lord´s instrument in these latter days. The Book of Mormon is true and invites all to come unto Christ. The Messiah has come, and will come again. I don´t know about you, but “I watch for the day of gladness when Jesus will come again.”

Eu amo voces!

Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Book of Mormon is true

  1. Elder Jarvis your posts are inspiring, And wise beyond your years. Your thoughts about faith and belief align with Elder Hollands talk at April Conference (I think it was that one) I’m not good at quoting so I won’t try.
    I noticed this is from May, I don’t think I have another from more recently. I hear you get to skype weekly with your parents. Your mom really likes that.
    I am looking forward to your next blog post.
    vickie g.

Leave a Reply

