The results of being obedient

IImage´d love to tell you all a lot about this week, but time won´t permit me to do so, So, I just say: 6 BAPTISMS!!!!!!!! It was wonderful. I was on a division and my faithful companion took the District Leader to the family´s house and he did the interviews (which wasn´t planned). Also, Bryan received his permission slip and thus I baptized 3, confirmed three, and Elder Henline baptized 3, confirmed 1. It was wonderful the feeling of a whole row of people dressed in white and then to bring them to the chapel the next day. The whole ward is pretty pleased with the new additions. Now, our trouble will be finding new investigators.

 Image
We had some fun moments this week (which will be shown in the photos when I get back), but it was the spiritual moments which took the highlights. I´m currently reading 3 Nephi, and now that I have a study journal, I had a tough time studying and finishing the 2 chapters under an hour. The Savior has so many things which cannot be caught unless you pick up a piece of paper and a pen and just start recording your thought and impressions. It makes me rejoice in the fact that we have the Book of Mormon. It really is one of the Lord´s most powerful keystones in the latter-days. As Elder Henline made the comment during study today, it is part of what the Lord wants us to know about in preparation for the Second Coming. Think of what that implies: This is so much more directed for our days than the Nephites. They never had the book, we do. We must all hearken unto its precepts, and as I´m learning, there is never ‘too much comprehensive study’ of the Book.
 
This week, we had to leave behind some of our beloved investigators for one reason or another. It is sad to see them reject the fulness of the gospel of Jesus Christ, or rather, the fulness of the way to happiness. During this week, I wanted to improve my prayers, so I read from the scriptures and Preach My Gospel. I remembered that it is supossed to be a conversation and not a monologue. I took that to heart and so I paused more often in my prayers in order to give the Father time to respond. As I did, I felt that I was talking to someone else who cares enough to take time to listen to me. I highly recommend this for all who look to better their personal prayers. I think this week has helped me and has been the answer to many of my prayers and the results of being obeident, for that is where it all starts.
 
As much as I hate to admit it, my time in this service is growing increasingly shorter and shorter. I know that I still have time left to do much good and work, but I´m also aware of the next stage in life (as Elder Henline is fond of mentioning). I´m anxious in the sense that it is a true manifestation that I must leave some things behind and grow into something more. It can be painful to grow, but stagance is the worst state of all. Trying to decide to go forward or backward takes you around only in circles. It´s strange to see how increasingly relevant these divine teachings seem to just apply themselves to me, and as I´m more and more no longer under my parents´ tutelage, I have had to look to a different professor, and I´d like you all to get aquainted with Him. The Lord Jesus Christ, who is Master in all, has called me to a holy calling, and as my feelings tell me, I´ll move from one holy calling to the hoilest of all callings that I am to be blest with. The fact is, I won´t be alone in this endeavor, for I´m seeking to better my unity with the Father and the Savior and the Spirit so that I will never be alone. If this mode of thinking doesn´t excite you about your own state of life, you just can´t get excited.
 
I love this church. I love the Book of Mormon and know that it was divinely sent. I´m grateful for the prophet´s guidance. Most of all, I´m grateful to be working side-by-side in all things with the Master, who is the universal Savior.
 
Eu amo voces,
Stephen
(Elder Jarvis) 
About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

