The Book of Mormon was written to convince people that Jesus is the Christ

We´ve walked a lot this week. We haven´t been too successful at finding new people, so we´ve been trying through the less-actives and going to the last zone that we haven´t touched yet. The problem is that almost all the less-actives have moved or gone over to other churches. Sometimes we get lucky to know where they moved to, but the ones who have fallen away make us sad. We asked one what happened and she told us: “Oh, I was a child when I joined your church. About 16 or 18 and I felt forced. I went for a month, then I stopped.” We then asked if she read the Book of Mormon. She replied, “No”. “Then, maam, how can you possibly know that this church is true or false if you´ve never checked it.” It´s a common problem here. Many are persuaded by Paul´s statement that we are the church of Christ and thus, they leave to whatever church suits their ideas, thus ironically fulfilling the prophecy that ‘they shall lean to itching ears.’
 
Well, just one reason I´m glad I checked with God before I did any big decision, like going to Church or the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon.
 
Yesterday was a good day. Though no one went to church (the hour change killed them.) Elder Sepulveda and I had a one-on-one lesson in Elder´s quorum with the teacher on Chapter 20 in Lorenzo Snow´s book. I got a wonderful feeling of confirmation that I need to stop worrying in excess that the work is slow here. They are the pioneers here, and it takes a while for things to happen here. I should be more worried about planting the seed and doing a good work here, preparing the way for others. I gave my talk yesterday based on this idea to the members. Perhaps what they should work on doing is being a good example and sharing the gospel ideas as a way to improve the community. It was a nice way to spend the Sabbath.
 
We also continue to teach Bruno, who is progressing slowly, but surely. We watched “Finding Faith in Christ” with him and his mom yesterday, and he shared with us that it´s becoming easier to believe and that he feels calmer these days and less-stressed.  For the third time in my mission, a parent thanked us for our work with their children. Bruno was one of the ‘mockers’ of the preachers. However, he has been sincerely seeking and hasn´t said a negative word about ‘the mormons.’ It waImages a nice reminder to me about the power of truth when it enters into our lives. 
 
Oh, by the way, I think John chapters 14-16 is the second most powerful discourse the Savior has ever delivered.
 
I´d like to remind people of a fact that I´ve been reminded of so many times. I have said before (at least, I think I have) that one of the things President emphazies with us is that the Book of Mormon was written to convince people that Jesus is the Christ. No other book that we have at the present time was written by prophets for this reason. I´ve pondered about this serveral times and then wondered why people reject it even after reading it. Perhaps this has been part of a greater question that I battled with for a while here: Are we teaching with the Holy Ghost or not? We bear testimony, we read scripture, we pray before and after the lesson, so why aren´t more people responding? I´ve heard a grown woman tell us, “Our family believes it because you guys believe it. We don´t have that surety.” That, in conjunction with 2 Nephi 33, gave me the answer. The Spirit is present when we teach of truth, however, men harden their hearts and receive not the spirit of truth. Basically, I want to remind you that it´s not your fault that people don´t listen or are influenced by your amazingly bright light; they just wear sunglasses. 
 
I love this gospel, which really does have all the answers for our personal problems. Read the Book of Mormon, and “be not faithless, but believing”.
 
Eu amo voces,
 
Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)
 
About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Book of Mormon was written to convince people that Jesus is the Christ

  1. Kimberly Mumford says:

    Thank you once again Elder Jarvis for your words. Your depth and breadth of spirit belie your earthly age… you are one wise man! Can’t wait to see you again.

Leave a Reply

