Want in?

We also had an interesting experience as we went to lunch on Wednesday. We almost got to the house when a man commented that we brought umbrellas on a hot day. With 20 minutes before lunch, we went over and talked with him. Wilson is an older gentleman who usually sits and admires the view (which is grogeous. Two big hills with trees and the suburb below). When we said we had a special message about Christ. he asked, “Well, what´s the message?” (Golden missionary line) We then taught him the Restoration and he was touched to see a confirmation that Christ visited his other sheep, like He promised. He then asked us if the end of of the world would mean the destruction of this (meaning nature). We responded no, and took a minute with him to admire the view. It´s one of the few moments where I have stopped to look at Brazil on my mission.
 
My heart was heavy yesterday as we left a house of some investigators. One of the people, about age 25, wanted to fight with us. While I invited her to leave the room, she stayed and wanted us to ‘prove’ that we lived with God before this life. Knowing that she wouldn´t shut up until we aquested, I pulled out the Bible and showed her Jeremiah 1:5. She stopped, and then asked (thinking that she had us), “Can you justify this?” Meaning, can you show me another Bible verse. My mind went blank. I couldn´t think of a thing. The only thing I could think of was Romans 8:16-17, which doesn´t talk about our pre-mortal life, but rather our eternal destiny. I opened it and read it. I turned to her and asked: “If we live this life, like Christ did, and if we can obtain the same glory, and God makes no exception of people, why should our beginning be any different then that of Christ or Jeremiah.” She looked at me, and we shared a profound silence for a minute, and she never spoke again for the next 20 minutes.
 
I hate having to (as my companion said) ‘destroy’ people like that. Later, in the same lesson, the mom doubted that we would live again. Once again, Paul was my best friend as I read a part of 1 Corinthians 15. The silence was less profound, but we did leave there having proved that we know what we are talking about. I saw a literal fulliment of the Lord´s promises in the Doctrine and Covenants: “Express the thoughts that I put into your heart and you shall not be confounded before men.” This experience could not have happened had I not studied every morning at 8:00.
 
God lives, and so does His Son. God is a loving Father in Heaven. He has created a great plan of Happiness for us all, that includes us excersing faith in Jesus Christ, fixing our errors, being baptized with water and the Spirit, and keeping the commandments until the end.

 

About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

