Let us rejoice in the Day of Salvation

We had a chance last night to watch the Christmas Devotional with the Prophet with the Ward. We brought several investigators, including two brothers of our recent-convert, a friend of hers, and an elderly woman that we almost left. She had a hard time in the recent years, and it affected her in such a way that she has hardened her heart. Though she is aware that God is love, the idea that prevails in her mind in the mean old judge who is always looking for vengeance. We went to her on a whim last night and invited her to come. She could only stay for a half-hour, but that was enough time to hear the Prophet. We also had a elderly gentleman, Elias, that came to church yesterday. We met him on Friday and he is just trying to live on his hobbies to keep his mind away from the fact that he cheated on his wife. He expressed sincere sorrow for this and we were delighted to be able to tell him about a loving Father in Heaven. We really didn´t think that he´d come, but he did and loved it.
 
The sad part of the week was a lesson that we gave on Saturday to a man who was very ignorant with us and presumptious. These are what I call my “Abinadi moments” when I can bear my heartfelt testimony against someone who rejects it. But, like Abinadi, someone heard: the 13 year-old from next door and she wanted to hear what we had to say, so we told her about Joseph Smith and the Restoration. However, the part that prepared me for that moment was some torn papers I saw on the ground before entering the house. It was the paintings at the front of the Book of Mormon. I didn´t see the Book that we had left with them before, but my anger heated up at that sight. My companion did mention that it was a very emotional lesson for him and that I ‘trapped’ the investigator in his defense. Here´s a recipe to get me mad: Start talking about: The Book of Mormon, Joseph Smith, or the gospel, and be prepared to sink deep in the corner of your bedroom.
 
On a brighter note, as Christmas comes closer and closer, I´m pulling out my hymnbook and reading the words. I particuraly love the lines of two hymns that I´d like to share with you.
 
Lord, with the angels, we too would rejoice; Help us to sing with the heart and the voice. Hasten the time when from every clime, Men shall unite in the strains sublime: Glory to God, Glory to God, Glory to God in the Highest, Peace on earth good will to men.
 
Hail the Heaven born Prince of peace, Hail the Son of Righteousness, Light and Life to all He brings, Risen with healing in His wings. Mild He lays His glory by, Born that man no more may die, Born to raise the sons of Earth, Born to give them Second birth. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing. Glory to the Newborn king.
 
This Christmas season is not really about the story of the Savior´s birth, rather, it is yet another time when we can raise and shout the glorious message of the Ressurection and Eternal Life that was made possible by this tiny babe´s life. As His birth was humble and beautiful and peaceful, so was His life and character. (Thanks, Elder Wirthlin) Let us rejoice in the Day of Salvation, those two days when all the prophecies were reassured and that the Father was glorifed: The Birth of the Son of Man, and the Resurrection of the Redeemer!
 
Eu amo voces,
 
Stephen
(Elder Jarvis)
 Image
About elderstephenjarvis

My name is Stephen Jarvis, and I grew up in the State of Washington. I am currently serving a two year mission for my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This blog will be maintained by my family throughout my two years service, May 2012 - May 2014. I enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) in Sao Paulo, Brazil on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012. I invite my friends and family to view the posts to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

